Share this

Steering Committee

The Scottish Pain Research Community (SPaRC) has a multidisciplinary steering committee to represent a wide range of expertise across basic science, clinical, and population health science.

The committee members are as follows:

  Professor Lesley Colvin (Chair) - Consultant Anaesthesia & Pain Management, Senior Lecturer, NHS Lothian, University of Edinburgh and Dundee, Royal College of Anaesthetists. 
  Professor Blair H. Smith - National Lead Clinician for Chronic Pain, Scottish Government, Professor of Population Science University of Dundee.




Lorna Semple - Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist in Pain Management, NHS Greater Glasgow and & Clyde.  
  Professor Paul A. Cameron - Lead Advanced Practice Physiotherapist, NHS Fife Pain Management Service; National Chronic Pain Coordinator.
  Professor Sue Fleetwood-Walker - Chair of Sensory Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh.
  Professor Tim G. Hales - Director Institute of Academic Anaesthesia, Centre for Neuroscience, Ninewells Hospital & Medical School.
  Professor Gary J. Macfarlane - Professor of Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.
  Dr Kathryn Martin - Lecturer in Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.
  Dr Mick Serpell - Senior Lecturer & Consultant in Anaesthetics & Pain Management, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.


Dr Line Caes - Lecturer in Psychology, University of Stirling.  
  Dr Daniel Govenden - Consultant in Anaesthesia and Pain Management.
Dr Rachel Atherton - Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Clinical Lead, Scottish National Residential Pain Management Programme.


Ms. Veronica Davey - Clinical Nurse Specialist, NHS Lothian